Centerboard on Sharpie

Hi, this is my first post. I have built a stitch and glue dinghy and now I'm looking for a traillerable day boat for the family. The boat should be able to sail with 4 adults being one skipper and up to 3 passengers. I'm studying the Sharpie but find the daggerboard a bit okward when compared to a centerboard (but I never sailed a boat with a centerboard). I am also curious about your "kick-up daggerboard". Does it "replace" the centerboard when it comes to land on a beach? How does it work? Also can the Sharpie take other sail rigs? Thanks a lot...!!!

13 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Centerboard on Sharpie

I'm building a Sharpie but I've not heard of the kick-up daggerboard.  To me it looks like a regular daggerboard and trunk.   I will stop here to keep this short, because I haven't learned how to insert blank lines yet.

Ito,

You sure you don't mean a kick-up rudder? A kick-up daggerboard doesn't really make much sense, whereas a rudder that kicks up when it hits bottom is pretty standard.

Daggerboards are used with no problem on lots of different boats. They can be more efficient than a centerboard because of their higher aspect ratio (long & narrow shape) which reduces drag and keeps the center of lateral plane from shifting as the centerboard is moved up and down.

They're also much simpler to build than centerboards and usually need less maintenance. They're not suitable for large boats, though, because eventually they reach a size where the weight makes them difficult to handle. But for a John's Sharpie they work just fine.

Laszlo

We sail a John's Sharpie

I just typed up a very long and involved post about the boat and how we sail it, an then it got wiped out.

Email me at [email protected] and I'll fill you in on how we use the boat. But I'll say this- if you are loooking for a nice, family, saturday afternoon kick back on the lake sailboat, 

THIS AIN"T IT !!