bulkheads

i am building a matunuck and to close off the bow and stern i thought i would use the 3" minicel foam with 3m 5200 sealant.  that way i give the hull/deck some flexible strength and create some floatation.  i was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on this.  is this a good idea or bad?

thanks, Dave

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: bulkheads

i realized haven't posted pics in  while.

http://i32.tinypic.com/28jxm5s.jpg

http://i29.tinypic.com/2eaudjt.jpg

almost ready to paint.  sure will be interesting to get the primer on and see the low spots.

Dave

Looks good. On the bulk head idea I have been thinking of doing the same thing to make bulkheads and compartments for my brother -in-laws fiberglass kayak. I know they do exactly that in some plastic kayaks for their bulkheads. Not sure  what to glu eit on with though. I'm no expert, but I think it is a good idea.

Jason

Oh, by the way, I really like to the look of the recessed tie downs. Goes nice on your boat.

Dave,