Block Plane vs Sander

Newbie here. I will have plenty of questions as I move through this process, so please excuse me. Some of my questions may even be smart ones. The rest, well, sorry about those.

Anyway, I plan to try a couple of CLC kayaks one more time during next year's fall tour through Northern California. Then I will pull the plug and order one, likely a Shearwater 17, but...

Okay, the question: I am relatively comfortable with sanders (orbital, belt, hand). I have never used a block plane and am afraid of causing some serious gouges with even a low-angle unit. What is the benefit of using a block plane over a sander?

Thx!

12 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Block Plane vs Sander

Quieter, less dust, can be more precise and faster and you don't need to keep buying sandpaper. Nor do you run out of sandpaper on a Saturday night after all the stores have closed. Properly used, it leaves a surface that needs no sanding.

You'll need to learn how to keep it razor sharp and how to use it. There's plenty of time til you start your build to do that. Just practice on scrap wood. Lots of videos on the web to help you along.

Have fun,

Laszlo

it's not really a competition.....sanders have their place and block planes have their place too...

so, for example, when you are sanding a glassed hull, you will sand it (probably with a random orbital sander).....you would never try to fare a hull by using a block plane.  similarly, if you need to bevel the edge of a sheet of ply.....that's where you would use a block plane.....and i guess while you could use a sander for that....it's a lot harder to control a sander trying to do a bevel and more likely to mess it up, in my view, than using a block plane.