Matunuck - surf kayak

G'day. I've started building the Matunuck from plans and am undecided wheather or not to install fins on it. I have no surf or WW kayak experience so thought someone might know if this design ( hard rails) will be fine without.

Thanks

Tony 

13 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Matunuck - surf kayak

Hmm,  my uninformed answer, (non surfer) goes thus:  Surf boards have fins.  do WW kayaks have them?  I think they wouldn't hurt.  Surfers can move fore and aft on the board to aid in turning.  Kayakers have paddles to help turn and I have no idea where our center of gravity lies.  Maybe fins would help with tracking to get back out for another ride.  The product description does state something like you can install them for the nastiest conditions, where I myself probably wouldn't paddle.  Since you have plans, maybe you can build two of them!  from wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kayaks#Surf_kayaks :  Surf kayaks

Traditional Surf Kayaking comes in two main varieties, High Performance (HP) Surf Kayaks and International Class (IC) Surf Kayaks. HP boats tend to have a lot of nose rocker, very little to no tail rocker, very flat hulls, very sharp rails and up to three fins. This enables them to generate lots of speed and be able to pull very dynamic moves. IC boats have to be at least 3m long and have to have a convex hull, the surfing of international boats tends to be smoother and more flowing. International class is often thought of as the long boarding of the kayaking world. Surf boats come in a variety of constructions ranging from tough but heavy plastics through to super light, super stiff but rather fragile foam cored Kevlar carbon. Surf Kayaking has become popular in locations were you will find traditional surfboard surfing, as well as new locations such as the Great Lakes