Skerry, North Eastern Dory or Jimmy Skiff?

I want to start my first boat project, but I do not know what of these three boats build. I want basically a good sailboat that goes well upwind, and fast on lightwinds (well I do not want to compete with a Hobbiecat or a Laser). Also I have no previous experience on boatbuilding, so what do you recomend?

Thank you very much.

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Skerry, North Eastern Dory or Jimmy Skiff?

The Jimmy Skiff is the easiest to build, especially from plans. It's a reasonably fun boat to sail and can carry a good-sized cargo. I've sailed it with 3 people on board. It would make an excellent first timer's boat since there's nothing really complicated about it.

The Skerry, to my eye, is the prettiest of the bunch. It needs a bit more work, especially from plans, because of the individual planks and the strongly curved sides, but it's still well within the capabilities of a first-time builder. It's a real joy to sail, well-mannered with no surprises. It moves through the water with a gurgle, rather than a slap-slap.

I don't have any experience with e NE Dory. Maybe GeorgeK, who built the beta version of the kit, could hop in here with some dory wisdom.

Laszlo

I'm building the Skerry from plans and am almost finished. I find it a very well thought out design and well within the reach of anyone. The construction was 100% fun and never have I found myself stumped or confused over the plans/manual.

If I were to do it again, I would consider buying the kit as it eliminates the drawing out and cutting of many pieces. 

My advice: go with the boat you like the most. In the end you'll be happiest!

Happy boatbuilding!

Jean.