Skerry Skeg Question

Hi Everyone,

I'm building a Skerry from plans and I have a short question regarding the skeg.

Does the trailing edge of the skeg need to be rounded off, in the same way the daggerboard and rudder edges are? Would it make a difference?

Any input would be much appreciated. 

Thanks!

Jean.

http://picasaweb.google.com/pbjsndwch/BuildingTheSkerry#

14 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Skerry Skeg Question

Not necessary. However if you did round it off a bit you might pick up 0.003 knots in performance. (And for those of you who wondered where I came up with that number, I am a rocket scientist.)

George K

Wouldn't that minor "performance enhancement" by rounding off the skeg only be effectively present when rowing, given that the trailing edge of the skeg is directly forward of (and very close to and in line with) the leading edge of the rudder?

So-- I agree with George K. rounding it off isn't necessary...

Julie K.

Yeah, but it will make it LOOK faster!     ;-)

Seriously, a small advantage is that you'll be somewhat less likely to chip the trailing edge of the skeg.  And if you glass over that part of the skeg (I haven't seen the plans, but I'm guessing you do) you'll find it much easier to do if the edges are rounded, than if they're square.

The manual does not call for the skeg to get glassed. Another thing to keep in mind is that rounding it over may make it significantly more challenging to attach the lower gudgeon.

Julie K

Here's a link to my skerry skeg and rudder

http://picasaweb.google.com/jkanarr/BuildingSanctuary#5308628739447701842

GeorgeK, thought you were a chemist.

Julie K, very nice work.

George & Julie - you two are both K's and both do nice boats. You related by any chance?

Laszlo

Beautiful boat, Julie!  Your paint and brightwork came out fantastic!  

By the way, are those a couple of Pygmy's on the wall?

~Chris