oxford and boat wakes

I've never rowed outside of a gym, but I was thinking of purchasing a oxford kit or a chester yawl kit with a rowing seat.  I live on a saltwater river and I'm sure I will have to endure boat wakes from time to time.  Is this a problem with the oxford?  Is it virtually impossible to stay on the craft when rowing around motored boats?

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: oxford and boat wakes

I can't speak directly to whether the oxford would be ok with boat wakes, but I have a lot of experience with boat wakes in sailboats of various lengths. 

For every boat, there is a wake that will be a deck washer, if not worse.  I had a 26 ft MORC sailboat that took water in the hatches when a tug went by on the intracoastal waterway at hull speed...

My opinion: build the boat you want. You can handle the wakes and occasionally get wet anyway. :-)

JayC is right; for every boat .... 

And he's right about building the boat you want -- otherwise, what's the purpose?

That said, part of the answer is basic seamanship.  Generally speaking, you'll want to take those wakes on a quarter; most boats will do much better that way than taking them square on the bow or stern, or on the beam.  You'll also want to keep a weather eye out for boats throwing wakes, and learn how to read those wakes before they get to you.