Rare earth magents for hatches

Has anyone installed rare earth magnets to hold the hatches down instead of the internal bungee systems? Any tips?

Kathy

20 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Rare earth magents for hatches

Just a thought, as I've absolutely no experience here ... but don't underestimate the force of the water drving down on your boat. If the magnets are weak enough for you to intentionally dislodge them (i.e., open the hatches) I'd be concerned that a crashing wave could unintentionally dislodge them, and a) you'd lose your hatch over the side, and even if you had a "leash" for your hatches so you wouldn't lose them, b) your boat would flood very quickly.  I would feel a lot safer with a more positive means of attaching the hatches.

Hi Kathy

That is a great idea !!!  I am about to start a wood duck hybrid and have given thought to different hatch hold downs.  Your idea is perfect.

I have lots of experience with rare earth magnets. You just need to be careful to select the right pull force.  If the force is to much you will not get the hatch to open. 

E-bay is a good place to find all kinds of rare earth magnets.

Lou

I'm with Lou on this one.  Rare earth magnets I think would be strong enough... and you will have to careful not to make it too strong.

As for the waves crashing down... yes, water is extremely powerfull and if I was building a boat for those conditions,  I would likely go a more traditional strap route or both... but for my wife's wood duck, that will never see big water, I now have a plan, thanks.

finally, here is my favourite store for rare earth magnets... and other fun stuff :)  http://www.leevalley.com