Naming the boat

Do any of you name your kayaks?  If so, do you put the name on the boat?  Where?  What sort of lettering would you use (size, script or block, etc)?  Apply the lettering before or after glassing?  Or before or after varnishing?

I will be starting a West River if it ever arrives.  (Seems like forever!)  I have a name picked out, but don't wish to flaunt tradition if one doesn't name a kayak.  Obviously I'm new to the game.  I just finishing "rebuilding" a 7 foot rowboat that my father built for me 60+ years ago.  (Had to start over, using the old boat for a pattern).  After bending wood and using at least 1,000,000 screws to hold it together, stitch and glue has obvious appeal.  

Thanks for any opinions on the naming thing.

Yelnats 

13 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Naming the boat

Last year about this time I started a thread about naming your boat, I think it won an award for the most responses ;)  I name my boats (already have the names for the next two projects).  In the long set of responses there were opinions expressed on both sides. 

I used a block style font called Eras Bold ITC... cause it looked good.  For my first boat, a seaflea I built in my early teens, I masked and painted the letters myself.  30 years later I have gradutated to stick on vinyl letters.  It was for my SOF.  For my WD12 & C18 I am planning the tissue paper under fiberglass method... font yet to be determined.  Nice thing with the vinyl method, it goes on after you are all done and can be changed.  8 months and a couple of winter paddles later she still looks great.

Long and short of it, it is your boat, your project, do what you want.

P.S. What name did you come up with?

BTW, here is the link to the other post I was referring to:

http://www.clcboats.com/forum/clcforum/thread/3450.html