storing the epoxy

i am new to the use of epoxies in this quantity.  i have just used the pumps and mixed my first batch.  now that that is done, to store the epoxy containers, should i remove the pumps?  if so, how do i clean them? or do i leave the pumps in and cover the pumps lightly to prevent any contamination?  i will be using them soon, within a week.

10 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: storing the epoxy

I can't speak to long term storage, but I left my pumps in place for months on end.  I did begin to have trouble with their operation after about a year, so maybe they should be stored for long term.  I am sure someone here has the answer to that.

One thing that I did do for storage is turn the pump head around facing backwards so if there are any errant drips, it goes on the bottle, not the surface it's sitting on.

Leave the pumps in and use when needed.  Once your project is finished and you need to store the epoxy, clean the pumps by pumping white vinegar through them and put them in sealed plastic food storage bags, one pump per bag.  The sealed containers of epoxy should store well for a couple of years.  I have MAS epoxy with the pumps in that I have used from time to time over a two year period.  The pumps and the epoxy still work fine.  Good luck.  Jer  http://gallery.me.com/jermcmanus

Thanks for your answers.  I wilol keep the pumps in.  i like the idea of turning the pumps 180 degreees.  i am building 2 matunucks and will post pics as progress continues.

Dave

I routinely cut the fingers off a latex glove and pulled them over the pump-ends to seal them from air..., worked pretty well but you have to replace the "fingers" often.