Running out of MAS, Have West System

I have nearly a gallon of West System epoxy.  Has comparable is it to MAS? 

I can get more MAS if that is the wiser choice.

Can I get some expert advise?

I would be using it on coating glass on deck and bottom. 

Dan-Fl 

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Running out of MAS, Have West System

I'm no expert but do use both MAS and West Systems.  You shouldn't have any problems.  I prefer MAS because I think West Systems goes off quicker, giving me less time to work, but the end result should be the same.  I'm sure other, more experienced folk, will jump in.

Thanks for your input Jack

Dan 

I have also used both.  West can go off quicker, but that depends on the speed of the hardener.  The fast hardener (and possibly other speeds as they age) is dark and not suitable for any application that will be finished bright.  I had some leftover West epoxy and used it for end pours.

You may get amin blush with West System.  Not sure if that can be avoided with slow hardener.

Paul G.

This is probably a 'no brainer', but do not use the West resin with the MAS hardener as they are not formulated to work together.  If you mean that you have done most of you build with MAS, and want to use West Resin and West Hardener in a different area, or over FULLY cured MAS, then this should be fine.  - Ron

I've used only West, and can tell you that stilljustseven is right. The fast (or low temperature) West hardener will impart an amber cast even if it's fresh, and as the hardeners age they will darken. This is especially true if the can has been opened and partially used. This darkening is most severe with the fast hardener, but it also happens with the slow (or higher temperature) hardener as well, even though the fast will be nice and clear if it's fresh.