lessons learned

Mill Creek 16.5 lessons learned.

I have been building furniture for about 20 years now. I started out with a handful of tools and aspiration of becoming the next “Stickley”. Producing high end, expensive hand made furniture. And here I am today with nice shop and an arsenal of tools that would make Norm Abram grin. I build 1-2 furniture pieces a month, and sell 2-3 pieces a year the rest fill my house. I take great pride and countless hours telling visitors stories of turning barn boards or lumber recovered from horse stalls into Sideboard hutches and Morris chairs. I don’t use nails it’s all exposed mortise & tenon joinery.

So building a boat seemed like a breeze in comparison to an 8’ wide 7’ tall mahogany China Hutch. My sons (all 6) were immediately excited, finally a project we can all enjoy and not be given a raised eyebrow when shutting a cabinet door to hard or setting a glass on a chairs arm rest or coffee table.

Here are my lessons learned from the experience.

·        Building a stitch and glue boat is more chemistry than carpentry.

·        It’s a 2-1 ratio for resin and hardener…”do not think otherwise”

·        White vinegar will remove wet epoxy from hair and skin.

·        A good barber can remove dried epoxy from hair.

·        Drill-fill-drill.

·        Learn to love wearing rubber gloves.

·        Spring clamps: buy 30, then go back and buy 30 more.

·        Learn to love sanding, even when its 10 pm on a work night.

·        Use “Interlux” paint, read the label. Then read the label again and visit the company’s website.

·         Blue painters tape and 3M Fine-line tape, know the difference between them.

·        Less is more when applying: epoxy, primer, paint and varnish.