Annapolis wherry as first boat

First Time poster here hoping to start my first boat build later this year. How would you rate the Annapolis Wherry as a first time build? From what I have seen, the Sassafras 12 or a wood duck seem like the easiest boats to build. I would love to build them at some point, but  I already have kayaks/canoes and would like a rowing exercise boat, something I don't have currently. The wherry is listed higher on the difficulty meter, so I wanted to get some opinions from builders before I bite off more than I can chew. 

Some information about me that might help. I have no boatbuilding experience, this would be my first. I have my aircraft mechanics license, so I am decent with my hands, especially with a good set of instructions.  I also fly fiberglass sailplanes, so I have done a small amount of wood gluing, a little more experience with fiberglass work, sanding, laying plies, mixing resin, scarfing, but nothing intensive.

I'd Appreciate any pointers, thanks!

1 reply:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Annapolis wherry as first boat

I think anyone that already has just a little bit of prior experience puttering about in the garage can build any one of the CLC regular (non-Pro) kits.  By that I mean anyone that can measure out and build a birdhouse or something similar without too many errors or too much difficulty should be OK. Just take your time, think things through, watch some videos, do a test piece if in doubt. It sounds like you have some tools - but if you don't have everything you need, again, just ask for suggestions and factor in the cost of a few tools as a part of the build.