First time build

Looking for a fun project and hoping to get a CLC kit and build a boat. When I compare some models, I can see the "difficulty" on a scale of very easy to patient, but it's not available for all models. I'm wondering just how difficult this would be for a first timer? I have plenty of fiberglass experience, but not much with carpentry. I have bult masts / spars out of solid spruce in the past, and replaced teak decking on my sailboat, but never built anything with attention to detail like this. I am particularly interested in the faering cruiser, but it looks rather complex. 

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: First time build

The Faering Cruiser isn't so much complex as there is so much of it. It's over 22 feet long and weighs over 600 lbs empty. That needs a serious building space and material handling equipment. It's also a Pro Kit, which means that it is "... intended for boatbuilders who are comfortable reading plans, and who don't need extensive step-by-step build instructions..." So the long and short of it is that it's not a good beginner's boat, at least not for the average beginner.

The good news is, with the experience you listed you are definitely ready for building one of the simpler models. You don't actually need a lot of carpentry experience, especially if you buy a kit. In that case, all the heavy duty plywood cutting is already done for you. All you need to do is clean off the nibs that the CNC machine leaves, sand a little and start assembling the pieces.

The main thing you'll be doing is stitching and gluing and covering with glass. And sanding. If you watch the videos on building a kayak, that'll give you a good understanding of what's involved. The good news is that those skills transfer to every CLC boat.