Effort to build a Chester Yawl

I have a lot of woodworking experience but have never built a boat, utilized the glue and stitch method, or applied fiberglass.  How long should I anticipate occupying a bay of my 2-car garage to build a Chester Yawl?

It appears to be plenty of YouTube videos on the methods above.  If someone has other media to recommend; please do.

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Effort to build a Chester Yawl

That depends almost entirely on you and how much time you can spend on it. If I remember correctly, in the CLC classes with all materials provided and an instructor to help, it takes about a week working full time to structurally put the boat together. After that the students take the boats home to sand and finish them, possibly for weeks.

For building at home you need to add time to allow for day jobs, family demands, raking leaves, etc. Since you're not working full time it takes more time to set up and put things away at the start and end of the day. If the garage isn't climate controlled you can't get that much done in real winter or summer temperatures so that limits work to fall and spring. If you have to wait for supplies like epoxy, varnish, wood, etc. to be delivered, that can add more time. So depending on your circumstances that week of concentrated effort can possibly spread out over many weeks.

The best answer I can come up with is that you're going to occupy that garage bay (and possibly a bit more) until the boat is done.

Have fun,

Laszlo

Thank you for the speedy reply Laszio.  Should have mentioned that I am retired and live in NH.  Winters are cold but my garage never falls below 44 unless we have numerous days below zero which are no longer common.

How does temperature affect fiberglassing resin and epoxy?

Would love to attend a class but not sure that is in the budget.

Maybe a late winter or early spring timeframe is my best bet.

Jeff