Clean up after sanding between varnish coats

I'm finally in the home stretch with my Mill Creek tandem after a busy, hot summer that kept me out of the shop.  I'm getting started varnishing the hull (Interlux Schooner High Gloss)  and would love any tips (having reviewed all the advice online at CLC).

What technique/material do you use to clean up the surface after sanding between coats?  In particular, what approach do you use after wet sanding?  Vacuum?  Dry rag?  Wipe with mineral spirits?    The can says "wipe with Brushing LIquid 333" - Do I really have to go into procurement mode for this?

First coat is on this a.m. and it looks awesome!  I'm planning to follow JHarris advice and just use a Scotch Brite scuff between the first few coats and then wet sand before the final.  

17 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Clean up after sanding between varnish coats

I am by no means a varnishing expert.  I followed the advice on the CLC web site like you and I am happy with the results, even with my many runs (they seem to disappear as you use the boat, or maybe become less noticeable as it get's scratched and dirty).  I cleaned up the surface with a clean rag soaked with denatured alcohol after sanding.     

Thanks! 

I'm a little concerned, though - denatured alcohol between varnish coats?  or just first clean-up of sanded epoxy?  I know it's safe on epoxybut I have the notion that it will damage the polyurethane.

I just wiped down between varnish coats with water, then a tack cloth-- which I'm sure is advice i picked up from this forum somewhere.  But as someone who once accidentally thinned varnish with denatured alcohol rather than thinner-- and then applied that varnish, I can assure you denatured alcohol will have no ill effects.

Just to be clear, tack cloth on epoxy or varnish before varnish (or paint) is OK.

Tack cloth on epoxy before more epoxy is to be avoided.