Greenland night heron

Interested in building Greenland night heron. In Pittsfield Mass area. Would like to see a complete boat prior to committing. Willing to travel. Thanks

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Greenland night heron

Hi David, 

you might try reaching out to Nick Schade with your question at his site:

https://guillemot-kayaks.com/feedback

he also tracks people who build his boats.  i have a lot of experience with Night Heron's, but while i have studied the plans and am aware of the greenland version, i never have actually met anybody who has built one.

that said, i do have a version that is pretty close.....its pretty much a low deck version night heron with a tweak for a bit more knee room for myself (i am not that flexible).  

i find it pretty easy to role but have the following thoughts (re opinions) re the greenland version...which i studied extensively...but then passed on

• its the core night heron with a very low back deck....but the regular night heron (which comes in a high deck and a regular) already has a pretty low back deck.  
  • if i wanted an exclusive rolling boat, i would probably shoot for something in the 17 foot range and a bit less of a committment.   its a lot of work to build a night heron and i wanted a bit more diversity in what i could do with it.  18 feet can come into conflict with some smaller garages.
  • there are a couple other designs (not here on CLC site) that i would also, at least, look at which are pure rolling boats....like the shrike R https://cnckayaks.com/project/shrike-r/   and the black pearl https://www.thomassondesign.com/en/catalog/my-kayaks/black-pearl

again, not trying to talk you out of it....the night heron's are great....i just think there has not been a lot of uptake on the greenland night heron becuase it is so specialized.

h

aghh...wish there was an edit feature.