Questions About Building A Northeast Dory

Hi,

I am new to CLC Boats, but have built a Coho kayak and a 20ft. modified-V skiff from offsets and plans in the past.  My current project is a NE Dory which I am building without benefit of assistance, which leads me to ask a couple of process questions.

First, when filleting the inside, the manual suggests that an assistant is desirable, alot several hours and that the fiberglass should be wet out before the fillets have cured.  Is possible for one person working alone to acomplish these steps before the fillets cure?  As an alternate, is it possible/practical to fillet the bow and areas up to station 1, glass this section and repeat in in the next section between station 2 and 3, etc?  Any insights and experiences would be greatly appreciated.

Second, my outwales are not 2 layers per side as the manual describes.  They are single full width pieces.  Since I haven't epoxied the scarfs yet I do not know how flexible they will be in full length.  My concern is that they might be to difficult to work with single handed.  If I manage to get one side clamped up does the second need to be installed immediately, or can I do one side, allow the epoxy to cure and then install the other side?  I am concerned about distorting the hull do to the forces not being equal.  Maybe I am worrying needlessly.  Again, insights and shared experiences will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Ed

13 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Questions About Building A Northeast Dory

Ed,

First you're exactly right about filleting and fiberglassing one section at a time. No problem at all.