Kaholo 14 value for charity raffle

Hi All,

I built a Kaholo 14 to donate to the Chesapeake Bay Conservancy. They plan on raffling it off as a promotion for the Bay Paddle event.  I can add up all the parts, supp;ies, options, but that really is not a good way to get a finished retail price. This one is not a stripper, but will have some extra pazzaz to dress her up along with some common options. Any ideas?  Tahnks

Charlie D

13 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Kaholo 14 value for charity raffle

Coming up with a fair market value for home built boats which will pass muster with the IRS can be a tricky business.  I'm no tax expert but, as a mostly reformed bean counter, I think you'd be safe to deduct the costs you listed above if the boat isn't very old.  If it is old, calculating depreciation would be another dicey business.  If memory serves (I had Federal Tax in college about a hundred years ago), your building time is considered a hobby and is not deductible unless you can make a case that you're building boats as a business.

If we're talking much money here, I'd consult a proper tax accountant on the matter.  If it isn't going to make a big difference in your tax amount, it might not be worth risking an audit, which can be a real PITA.

.....Michael

FWIW, under the tax code changes passed by the last administration, it probably won't make any difference at all. With the changes made to the standard and itemized deductions, a charitable donation isn't worth anywhere near what it used to be and it would have to be a large fraction of your income to make it worth more than just taking the standard deduction. I experienced that first-hand when I donated a boat to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum charity auction a few years ago.

Laszlo