Is my build up in flames?

Trying to hide my disappointment in the novelty humor of the build DVD videos... I've been working on my Chesapeake 16 build for almost 2 years after telling myself I was going to have it completed through a single winter season.

Fiberglassing the bottom, First side went well, 2nd half I had the epoxy kick off in the mixing cup, burned my hand causing me to drop the cup, spilled out on to the fiberglass weave and hardened fast. In the panic, I tried to scrape it smooth across the hull, but it just dragged and winkled the fiberglass cloth.

In my frustration I stopped working a while (not the first cup of epoxy to kick off in my hand, at this point I needed to order more of this as well....). When I returned, I decided that it was not repairable without causing damage to the fiberglass cloth. I cut the fiberglass along the keel and removed the cloth from the "messed up" side. I ordered another fiberglass cloth, sanded it down to bare wood and epoxy it again. I then ran a 3in Fiberglass strip down the length of the keel hoping that help reinforce the keel.

I'm now concerned about this solution... Everything I'm reading is telling me it's very important to have a single sheet across the hull for strength, rigidity, and smoothness. It' looks like crap, I've already had to order more fiberglass sheet and epoxy. I'm sure I'll need more 3in fiberglass strip now too.

What are my options? Sick of looking at this project in my garage, but can't bring myself to keep working for fear of further screwing it up.

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Is my build up in flames?

Relax. Everything can be fixed.