Epoxy and fiberglass

Is there a way to gain experience with epoxy and fiberlass without ordering a kit ifrst?  I have no experience in this, but want to build the Lighthouse Tenderly kit.  I don't want to spend all that money and end up destroying the build with a bad fiberglass and epoxy job.

10 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Epoxy and fiberglass

Fiberglass cloth is cheap, and can be had from almost any home supply or hardware store.  You'd want to get cloth similar to the kits - 4 to 6 oz, woven.

Two-part epoxy isn't too cheap, and you'd need a fair quantity to get some decent testing/learning done.  Probably two quarts. And definitely get slow reaction epoxy.  Managing set-up (hardening) time (which is very temperature dependent) is a very big piece of learning good glassing.  Having 30 minutes or more of good working time is nice - 10 minutes or less gets very challenging.   And maybe some wood flour or cellofil to test the "mustard" and "peanut butter" consistencies you'll need to become familiar with gluing together pieces and doing filets.  You can get epoxies and fillers locally or mail order or from CLC.  One thing to do it to NOT confuse epoxy glassing efforts with polyester resin glassing efforts.  That is an entirely different animal.

You can test on any sort of wood - cheap plywood is fine, but a key will be to ensure you learn to do some corners and curves, and that some of the work is other than horizontal.  Horizontal flat surfaces are easy.  Other things not so much.  You'll also want to learn and practice the filet process.  The more you learn the better you get, and the less sanding you have to do, which is a significant time savings.  Good technique is less about puttin the epoxy on the cloth, and much more about getting the glass to lay flat while prepping the work, figuring out how to get good edges, smoothing filets, etc.