Fiberglass before assembly - CLC Heresy?

Hello all,

We're well into our NE dory build, which is going overall well.  

I recently came across the Russell Brown series on Offcenterharbor and it raised some questions about the CLC method I wanted to ask the more knowledgeable souls of this message board.  

Namely: why wait until the boat is assembled (stitched and tack welded) prior to fiberglassing?  Why not fiberglass the panels while they're flat on the workbench (while fiberglassing is comparatively easy), THEN assemble/stitch, fillet and maybe apply fiberglass tape to the seam/fillet for added strength.  Seems it might be a bit easier?  Maybe it would be way heavier, or weaker?  Penny for your thoughts...

11 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Fiberglass before assembly - CLC Heresy?

Hi JFTee, 

reasonable question....and i have some experience and thoughts i would be happy to share.

so first, no heresy here.  there is a lot of variation in build approaches that can be taken.  CLC, to keep their manuals simple, has a baseline approach that works well for those who don't want to get into the minutae of all the variations that can come into play and the materials engineering/complexity/time tradeoffs that need to be evaluated as you deviate from the baseline.  

so it's not heresy to suggest different approaches.