Running out of epoxy for kit kayak build

Is it fairly common to run out of resin/hardner on a kit kayak build?

I'm on my first build of a Sectional Shearwater Sport. I've completed the interior work (glassing cockpit, fillets, etc.) and am moving to exterior work (glass deck and hull with fill coats, etc.). My assumption is that I should be about halfway through my epoxy material at this point. The kit includes 6 quarts resin and 3 quarts hardner, and I only have about 1/4 of that left now, leading me to think I need to buy more.

As this is my first build there are probably some inefficiencies in the way that I'm batching epoxy mixes, but I'm still trying to be quite frugal on my use of the material. For example, I'm following the instructions closly regarding the suggested radiuses of fillets and avoiding pooling. It's worth noting that the Sectional version of the Shearwater Sport uses a lot of epoxy on the bulkheads relative to the normal Shearwater Sport. The bulkheads recieve glass on all (4) sides and 1" radius fillets where they join the hull. This is certainly understandable for sectional structual integrity, but it does leave me wondering if the kits include enough epoxy for this version to accomoate. Is my experience here fairly typical?

I'm also wondering about the upcoming end pours. The instructions call for a cup of epoxy on each end. I assume that's a literal "cup" (measuing cup), but that's a lot of material and still does not seem like enough to fully enclose loop holes. Does anyone have any tips on how to mange material for these end pours? I'm considering some of the micro ballon filler, but not sure if it's worth the trouble.

Thanks for any tips and insights!

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Running out of epoxy for kit kayak build