cutting the sectional

I'm making the Shearwater Sport Sectional, and I'm wondering if there's any reason not to make the sectional cuts after glassing and epoxying the entire boat, but before sanding and applying the additional fill coats of epoxy.

My arguments for cutting the boat into thirds earlier than in the instructions are:

1) Less epoxy to saw through.

2) Any mess that I make either sawing, filling the gaps between the bulkhead and deck, or fiberglassing the bulkheads will be easier to cover up earlier in the epoxying process.

3) Based on the discussions here, I'm considering the graphite-epoxy bottom approach, but I do not want to apply graphite in my finished basement which is where I've been working so far (with lots of dropcloths and vacuuming).

But this is my first build, and I may be missing a reason not to do it this way.

While I'm at it, also have a question about filling the gaps between the bulkhead and deck -- what mix should I be using?  Could I use microballoon filler here to reduce the weight?  From looking in through the hatches, I can see that there are some pretty big gaps to fill to ensure water tightness.

thanks.

14 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: cutting the sectional

If it were me, I'd want the sections to match at the joints.  Making the cuts and then sanding and placing more epoxy, etc does not make that happen. 

Less epoxy to cut through.......... the truth is there isn't much to begin with. If it is tough........ your saw it too dull. 

The manual says that for the final sanding and varnishing, you reassemble the boat with spacers to prevent the pieces from sticking together -- I was assuming I would do that for the epoxying as well if I cut it earlier.

I have build the Shearwater Sectional and I think you approach makes good sense. Don't be surprised if there is some filling and repair to do after making the cuts.