Sailing NE Dory maneuvering question

On two occasions while sailing, the dory wasn't super responsive turning port (both occasions on port tack). 

I'm a beginner sailor, but one of the two times I was with my neighbor who is a very experienced sailor and he found it odd. 

I'm wondering why this happened. 

I have two guesses:

1- My rudder is not low enough (the bottom is current sitting three finger atop from the skeg) 

2 - My centerboard is not completely straight. 

Any suggestion? 

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Sailing NE Dory maneuvering question

I agree that your rudder may not be low enough. I think mine is about level with the bottom of the skeg. Basically, you want it down as far as you can get it without interfering with movement of the tiller.

The other thing you can do is sit a bit further aft to get the rudder a bit deeper.   

Guedelha,
Lug or sloop?
Barn door or kick up (rudder)?

And, if lug...

What side of mast is your sail rigged?

Lug rig rigged on the port side. Shallow rudder, not kick in. 

I was able to drop the rudder half inch deeper. I will test again tomorrow. 

That's interesting, I noticed the exact same problem on my first outing in me NE dory this past weekend, except that mine is sloop rigged. Same thing though, I was on a port tack in ~5kt winds, and tried to bring it left into the wind and the thing wouldn't budge...very odd. Felt like the rudder wasn't big enough/deep enough into the water.

In addition to my comments above about getting the rudder deeper in the water and shifting further back in the boat, I'll add that there is a definite learning-curve in sailing very light-weigh hulls. Heavier boats carry more momentum into the turns and thus are easier to bring about in some wind conditions.