Chesapeake 17 & marine ply ...advice please

Hi all, Please note that i live in Scotland. I'm an experienced woodworker, but first time boat builder. I've bought the plans for the Chesapeake with the intention of starting construction shortly. Unfortunately i've encountered a problem - i can get marine grade ply ok, but the smallest thickness is 6mm. I can't find anyone within driving distance who can supply smaller and having it delivered would double the construction costs of the yak. Question - can i get away with building the boat completely in 6mm or should i use thin exterior grade ply for the deck? Thanks, Marc

2 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Chesapeake 17 & marine ply ...advice please

G'day from sunny Australia, Marc.   Having built a Chesapeake 17LT earlier this year I feel qualified to answer this, so here goes - you should re-double your efforts to obtain 4mm marine ply for the hull and 3mm for the deck.   Try the internet, kayak clubs and their members, etc., for info on sources.

If you build out of 6mm several things will happen: you may find difficulties with the ply taking up the correct shape of the hull, especially at the ends: you will NEVER get the 6mm to take up the heavy camber of the deck in front of the cockpit: and above all it will weigh a ton.   Over and above all this, I think it would spoil the building experience for you, depriving you maybe of the joys of going on later to build other designs (the Chesapeake is a fine first choice).

If worst comes to worst, I'd be inclined to use carefully chosen exterior grade for both hull and deck, if you can get 4mm and 3mm respectively.   At a pinch, 4mm for both would be OK, but it's a bit of a test of brute strength getting the deck ply to conform to the camber, despite the fact that 4mm is the recommended deck material.   Most Chesapeake builders use 3mm for the deck - I did.