Brightside durability - wearing on trailer bunks

After just two launching and retrievals of my newly-completed Pasagemaker Dinghy, the Interlux Brightside finish has worn off to the epoxy coating in areas where the PVC trailer bunks make contact with the hull. Also, the skeg paint has worn off after one gentle beaching in sand. In general, the finish is not the hard, durable surface I was expecting and the paint is readily dented with a fingernail. Is this par for course for Brightside or am I expecting too much? It is my first time working with this product.

For discussion's sake, the finishing included two coats of oil-based primer over fully cured epoxy in the fall of 2020, then 3 coats of brushed Brightside, thinnned with Interlux 333 as needed, in the spring of 2021. A week or more elapsed between coats, and the final coat had at least 6 weeks of cure before trailering and sailing.

Thoughts or suggestions?

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Brightside durability - wearing on trailer bunks

It's the primer, most likely, that's the issue.  I used PreKote on the outside of my skerry and regretted it.  It made the Brightsides softer and easier to damage.  The Brightsides on the interior was laid down over just the sanded epoxy and it seems a lot harder. I get a lot of sand in the bottom and while I have the SeaDek matting in there, the sand still gets on everything else and doesn't do excessive damage to the pain.  Also, I'm not easy with the oars, tiller, other stuff banging around and aside from a few chips on edges, it's pretty solid.