Chasing Perfection

Ok, I am a first time builder, I have been steadily working on a Wood Duck 14 since January. Currently everything is at the point where I am getting ready to glass the exterior, and I've already decided that this will not be a one-and-done situation. That being said, good, bad, or ugly, this boat will be a bright finish simply because every imperfect aspect makes it beautiful. That being said, how far does one chase perfection?

10 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Chasing Perfection

It's a philosophical question! 

At the risk of unintentional paraphrase and faulty attribution, here are a few perspectives:

"Perfection is the enemy of the good" - Voltaire

"Genius is the art of taking infinite pains" - Albert Einstein

Or, as my old boss in my summer job on the grounds crew at college would say (put on your heavy Italian accent):

"Take-a-time, make it look nice!" - Louis DiRusso

It's a philosophical question! 

At the risk of unintentional paraphrase and faulty attribution, here are a few perspectives:

"Perfection is the enemy of the good" - Voltaire

"Genius is the art of taking infinite pains" - Albert Einstein

Or, as my old boss in my summer job on the grounds crew at college would say (put on your heavy Italian accent):

"Take-a-time, make it look nice!" - Louis DiRusso

In his videos, Nick Schade speaks often of "Sneaking up on Perfection."  If you think you need another two passes with the block plane, do only one and take a look.     

"Boat building is the practice of minimizing errors" - DP

Dean

It seems that the law of diminishing returns applies. There is a point when the effort for perfection is greater than the benefits. If its perfect will you risk paddling it?