Duckling: Best "fix" for missing chunk at edge of panel?

I'm just getting started on a Wood Duckling 8.  I was eager to do some test runs with epoxy and applied epoxy/glass to a pair of hull bottom panels before removing the nubs along the edges of each of the panels.

I had good luck removing nubs with a bonsai saw but somehow managed to mangle one of the two panels in the puzzle joint assembly I'd already done (the last nub, no less!).  Sadly, this missing chuck is on the side opposite the fiberglass and would therefore be on the outside of the hull and would probably make for a highly visible blemish with a bright finish (my goal).  The missing chunk is roughly where the front bottom panel meets the middle bottom panel (where the bottom/top panels meet).

Given that I want a bright finish, it seems like the best path forward is probably to redo the puzzle joint to move the blemish to the inside of the panel (after beveling the inside of that panel as recommended in the manual, the chunk would barely be visible, I think).  This would involve using a heat gun (or blow dryer) to remove the fiberglass/epoxy, sanding (or using cabinet scraper) to remove excess epoxy, and then flipping the panel over and fiberglassing the other side.

Any thoughts on this approach?

[img]https://photos.google.com/share/AF1QipOF5HNSXti-PPME9j9OqjNYVhONCpHvmi9NJx1-OPXhSw25iXwNfn0FViiaRrpBSQ/photo/AF1QipM0l_evW-Vmc0AM0VujKFEpGabz3k99tCr9QPY0?key=OEY1cVFIZk03QzZwcnpHa2NpbFAwQkpxOFJHdFpn[/img]

12 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Duckling: Best "fix" for missing chunk at edge of panel?

Apologies for the sloppy 3-part post.  I'm trying to get the photo hosting sorted out (should have used the post preview).

Hi Herbie,