Passagemaker Jib, daggerboard, oars while sailing

Hello Forum

Today I participated in the CLC event with my passagemaker. First time sailing in it.

I have a few question:

Daggerboard: it was getting up all the time. I guess I have to lock it in place with some cord? any suggestions or creative ideas will be welcome.

Jib: this is my first time sailing with a sailboat with a jib... and I saw two things... 1) I didn't know if I need adjust the jib sheet tension, or I just need to have it as tense as possible (oppose to what we do with the main, that one has to adjust depending direction, etc). 2) going "against" the wind was very tough, and I ended rowing... I know that the daggerboar may contribute with this, but I have it down all the way (with some rope, sorry line) but may be the jib should be adjusted in some way and I was not doing so.... any suggestion for 1 or 2, are welcome.

And lastly...

What a pain in the back having the oars when sailing... any suggestion to stow them while sailing are welcome... I was thinking having them tied to the top side thru the holes use to secure them when rowing... but I am sure that someone has some creative solution.

Cheers

Diego

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Passagemaker Jib, daggerboard, oars while sailing

A short, stout bungie cord with the middle across the after edge of the dagger board and the hooks over the forward edge of the midship thwart on either side of the "hump" around the daggerboard slot will keep the board from floating up without making it difficult to get up when wanted.