Confusion about glassing

I am a newbie, building a Skerry, about to start glassing.

- The manual says (p. 65): Start with about 24 oz. of thoroughly mixed epoxy. Pour a puddle of epoxy on the center of the bottom panel.

- I know, from a memorable experience, that mixing a smaller amount in a cup (I think it was 8 oz) resulted in a very hot hockey puck. It got thick and hot, and it was useless.

- I called CLC support to ask about this discrepancy, and they said to mix smaller batches. Can that possibly be right?

So I'm looking for advice on the process of mixing and applying epoxy, and glassing in general.

14 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Confusion about glassing

You're both right.

If you mix 8 oz and leave it in the cup while you work, you'll get the famous smoking hockey puck.

If you mix 24 oz exactly right and as soon as it's mixed pour it onto the glass and quickly spread it out, it'll work.

To do that with 24 oz, you need to have enough experience with mixing epoxy so that you'll know exactly when to stop and pour. Stop too soon and it won't set right. You'll have sticky patches that will never set. Go on too long and you'll have the smoking hockey puck.

Just to make things more fun, when to stop is also affected by the ambient temperature, the epoxy temperature, the stirring inplement, the shape of the container, your mixing style (whip vs fold vs stir vs ...), etc.

Once you've mixed enough epoxy under enough different conditions, you'll know how it all works and you can actually do 24 oz batches. I personally prefer 6 oz when I work (FWIW I've been using epoxy for 20 years).

Also, if you dump a 6 oz batch onto the boat, and spread it out a bit so that it has a large surface area to radiate heat with, you can mix another batch and pour that out, too, before the first batch becomes unworkable. That way you can work with a a larger combined batch and no hockey pucks.