Making a heated tent for curing sheer clamp to side panel attachment

I am making a Shearwater 17 hybrid.  This is my first build.  I have epoxied the three pieces of the sheer clamps to make the full length parts.  The next step is to epoxy each to the side panel.  My build space temperature is in the 50s these days.  I am thinking of clamping the side panel to my work table, then making a simple tent around the part with a light paint tarp and putting a light bulb in a reflective holder at each end to up the temperature for proper curing after I attach the sheer clamps to the side panels.  I appreciate any tips on how to do this easily and well.

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Making a heated tent for curing sheer clamp to side panel attachment

sounds like a reasonable plan.

i have two little air thermometers i keep in my shop just to maintain awareness of where my shop/piece is at temperature wise.  when i do a tent like you are describing, i confirm the tent can deliver the temperature i need before i start.  two thermometers help me ensure a long piece is getting unformly heated.  i will typically put one thermometer at the end i expect to be the coldest and another one closer to the warm side.

the most important concern in any heat tent is not starting a fire.  so its important to ensure the plastic will not fall onto the heat source and light up. 

anyway, i have a little plywood box i use for my heatlamp so that if the tarp fell, it would be kept far enough away from the heatlamp to prevent melting or other bad things.  ensure no pets or small children or even big children and adults who do not know the area come into the space when you have something delicate set up.  

h

Thanks for the feedback.  Always good to be sure no fire starts if something falls.   

Instead of building a tent, I got some fast MAS hardener from CLC. It can be mixed with slow hardener in any proportion.