New to CLC / Eastport Pram

Hi all,

I've been sailing for a quite few years now, but have never built a boat before, and don't really have any woodworking experience either. So I decided to pick the smallest and easiest CLC sailboat for my first project—that appears to be Eastport Pram.

I am about to pull the trigger for the kit, and I am sure I'll have a lot questions as I go over it, but I'll start with these two.

I'll be building it in an unheated room over the Boston fall and winter, and I am getting concerned about epoxy curing (and paint and varnish, for that matter). Any thoughts or tips for that?

Also, for those of you who have build an Esatport Pram, any gotchas I should be aware of? I am thinking mostly in terms of following the instructions, but any tips for a complete newbie would be very much appreciated.

Andrew

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: New to CLC / Eastport Pram

Welcome to the mob!

The Eastport Pram is a fun little boat to sail and small enough to be easy to move and store. A Boston winter will definitely challenge your epoxy, varnish and paint. At the top of this page is a button labeled "Tips for Boatbuilders". Read as much of that as you can before you start building, it's full of valuable info. Specifically, it has a section called Epoxy in Cold Weather which should help you deal with old man Winter.

Have fun,

Laszlo

Hey Andrew,

I built the EP first, then a few years later built the Passagemaker.  It's not any more difficult, so unless size, space or expense is a factor, don't let lack of experience stop you from building a larger boat.  In some ways it's easier to bend longer planks.

Here's a link to my build videos:  youtube.com/c/midnightmaker

And an Instructable:  https://www.instructables.com/How-to-Build-a-Wood-Sailboat/

Laszlo,