Suggestions on which boat to build?

I'm planning on building my first boat this summer, and wondering which boat to build.  I'm considering something like the Chesapeake 17LT or Guillemot, but I'm open to other suggestions.  Mainly I'll be paddling around a small inland lake in Michigan, with a distant possibility of exploring the edges of Lake Michigan.  I'm a pretty solid woodworker, so complexity of construction isn't really a concern.

I have three year old twins, and I'd love to be able to have one of them in my lap while we paddle around the the lake at sunset.  Am I nuts?  I really don't want to commit to a double, but maybe that's what I need.  Or possibly I should think about something like the new dory.  Different experience, but I could put the whole family in there.

How do you kayak with small kids? 

thanks for any advice,

Greg

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Suggestions on which boat to build?

Greg,

Not nuts, just overly optimistic, at least with a CH17LT or Guillemot. You need a boat with a much larger cockpit, such as  the Wood Duck 12. Remember, not only does the kid need to fit in your lap, but there has to be enough room to swing a paddle without braining the little one.

The performance kayaks are all solo boats. The doubles & triples are getting big enough to where paddling and transporting them approaches the rowboat experience, albeit you get to face in the direction you're going. They're also not much fun to paddle solo. Sounds like maybe you need a couple of boats - one big one for family expeditions and a solo kayak for Dad's day off.

Laszlo

I would agree with a duck - it is more towards the recreational side but this boat still holds its own very well.

We have not taken them out on Michigan or Huron yet, but we have had them out a few times in high winds/choppy waves on our lake and had a blast.