Newbie looking for advice on best kayak plans

I'm doing research for building my first strip kayak. I'm a skilled woodworker with an outfitted shop, in case you are wondering why plans vs a kit. I also bought the book "Kayak Craft" by Ted Moores. 

I see many companies on the web that offer plans. Can I get some feedback on what people here think are the better plan vendors? I know to look for plans with full-sized templates, so I won't have to enlarge the diagrams.

Thanks.

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Newbie looking for advice on best kayak plans

in addition to the great catalog CLC offers, a very popular designer who sells plans is bjorn thomasson  https://www.thomassondesign.com/en/   i have built his designs as have others who routinely participate in this forum.

i would also check out guillemot kayaks builders forum http://www.kayakforum.com/KBBS/forum/1  which is a place a lot of strip builders hang out and discuss their projects.  they will quickly give you a list of another couple handfuls of strip plan sellers....that will probably cover the preponderance of the market.

fwiw....depending on what you want to do, clc does a great job of selling materials and will also custom cut forms if you don't want to do that yourself.    in my last plan build, i had them do that for me...bought the plans as a computer file, e-mailed them to CLC and CLC cut them for me on their CNC machine.  figured it was easier than finding a printer these days and dealing with large boards.  also figured i was not going to bring any artistry to the forms cutting process.

best of luck

h

As always, good advice from hspira above.