Microbubbles for end pour?

Does anyone know the approximate weight advantage in using the appropriate mix of microbubbles vs straight resin/hardener for the end pours on a Chesapeake 17LT?

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Microbubbles for end pour?

Hi Gibbs, 

my back of the envelope is anywhere between 3 to 6 oz.

i have a lot of experience building these boats and getting them done at their target weight or better....and to do that you need to pay attention to each step and accumulate a lot of little savings over many steps and then it really adds up to something.

to get a light end-pour, the first trick is to do the end-pour before you do the deck so you can control precisely where the end pour is and minimize its volume.   then, once you do that, you fill that volume with the lowest density material that will do the job.

on the first part, control where the end-pour goes, you only need it big enough to cover the hole you drill into the bow for a toggle or rope.  the end pour's main purpose is when you drill a hole it goes through the end pour and does not open up into the cockpit (which would let water into the boat).  so for me, when i create a little dam to hold the end pour material where i want it, i only leave between 1/4 to 1/2 inch of material aft of the back edge of the hole i am drilling for the toggle straps.  this will typically make an end pour substantially smaller than if you are pouring it blind with the boat standing on its end.

on the second part, what material...i usually use microballoons as well.  the important part is lots of microballoons until you get a peanut butter/whip cream consistency.  otherwise, its no less dense than straight resin.  since the end-pour is being done with the deck off, you can trowel it into place...becuase it definitely is not pourable.