Nubs on bilge and sheer panels Mill creek 13

Newbie here so maybe this is a stupid question. So stitching mill creek 13 panels together. Do the nubs on the edges of the panels serve a purpose or need to be removed. In stitching the bilge panels to the bottom panel they don't seem to interfere and actually help keep the edges in line. But moving on to stitch the sheer to the bilge they it seems they need to be removed. ???  No mention of them in the manual whatsoever that I've seen  Thanks for any advice PP

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Nubs on bilge and sheer panels Mill creek 13

I haven't built the Mill Creek, but if it doesn't address the nubs maybe that is an oversight in the manual.  I think they were spoken of in my Shearwater manual.  Anyway, those are artifacts left over from the factory cutting process - the nubs get removed.  If you DO have any locations where tab A goes into slot B, that will probably be specifically spelled out, and those tabs will be much larger and more prominent - like where bulkheads mate to hull panels.  So - sand or cut these nubs off flush with the edge line of the panel.