Skeg for Arctic Hawk

i am finally close to adding the deck to my Arctic Hawk. This Kayak is supposed to be for my son, but I plan on paddling it as well. I am interested to know from the experience of other builders and paddlers. Is the Skeg something that is needed, for this design, more than the Chesapeake or Shearwater designs? I have the plans for a Skeg,  and was planning to install one prior to adding the deck. My son doesn't feel a Skeg is necessary. We have both been Paddling the Shearwater Sport and Chesapeake 17LT without a Skeg or Rudder without a problem. I have never used a Skeg, so I don't know how much of a difference it will make in rough water. I want to make sure that we don't regret not adding aSkeg to this build.

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Skeg for Arctic Hawk

Your question got me interested in reading up on the topic, but I have no personal experience with the Arctic Hawk that can help you. However, these are my conclusions (for what little they are worth).

1. To the extent that the Arctic Hawk is meant to be similar to the traditional skin-on-frame boat, it would not have had, and should not need, a skeg. (Impossible to put onto traditional skin-on-frame.)

2. The Arctic Hawk should be similar in the water to the Chesapeake 17LT. Both boats should weathercock in a cross wind (but even my Shearwater Sport does that). A skeg (particularly a retractable skeg) can apparently make paddling in a crosswind much easier.

3. If you don't think you spend much time in crosswinds or cross-waves, the skeg is an unnecessary complexity.

What little I know basically comes from paddling boats shorter than 15' and from reading this helpful article: https://paddling.com/learn/going-straight-rudder-or-skeg/