Kayak with Hobie Mirage Drive

I have an older Hobie tandem kayak with mirage drives. It weighs 95 pounds and I'm not getting any younger - getting that beast on top of the truck requires some finess.

I began a search for light weight kayaks and found myself drooling on stitch-and-glue kayaks, especially CLC kayaks. I have been thiking of a Shearwater 16 or 17 when I go by myself and taking the Big Blue tug boat with mirage drives when my wife wants to go.

Then I read here that some very ingenious folks have retrofitted CLC boats to handle mirage drives. That just may be the best of both worlds! Problem: I am not an engineer nor am I an experienced woodworker. I found some Forum articles that had pictures of the mirage drives installed, but I can't view the pictures (deleted or requiring a special password to another app). If anyone has photos of CLC kayaks, or even a canoe, with a mirage drive installed I would really appreciate your posting it/them.

Thx, Rob

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Kayak with Hobie Mirage Drive

Rob I've been watching this thread for replies since it appeared a week ago. I'm kinda surprised there haven't been any.

But then the Mirage drive is something of an anomaly; marriage between a recumbent bicycle and a watercraft.

Might I suggest you contact DIllon Majoros at CLC for his perspective on your intent? It was either Dlllon or John Harris who engineered adding a Mirage drive to the Waterlust expedition canoe that CLC was comissioned to design and prototype back in 2016.