Scaling designs for mini boat

I am new to this and way out my depth (pun intended) in designing plans for a small boat.  I have a CNC design and intermediate build experience on other projects (never any watercraft) but looking to start a new project based on this idea:

http://rapidwhale.com/mini-boat.php

Since this is meant for kids I want to make sure the design is solid in terms of stability but I'd also like to merge it with this kind of design to improve on the asthetic appeal (it's on a lake of wooden boat affiicianados!):

https://www.boatdesigns.com/Barrelback-19/products/721/

Any advice on either finding some help getting a good design done or any advice on scaling designs to something of about 6'?  I do know you can't scale any design based on a flat % and make it sea worthy and I don't want to risk that anyway.

I'll take any advice as a complete newbie here.

thanks!

Chuck

4 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Scaling designs for mini boat

Hi Chuck,

If this is your first ever boat project, scaling an existing design is probably one of the worst ways to approach it. That's the kind of thing that you really need some experience for. Instead, you should be looking at finding designs that meet your requirements. 

So far, your explicit requirements are:

1. Small, in the vicinity of 6' long

2. Stable

3. Safe for kids

4. Good looking

5. Suitable for first-time build

6. Protected fresh water use

Those are a good start, but you need to supply more details to help us help you.

a. How close to 6'? A little longer OK?

b. Power (gas, electric, steam?), sail, paddle, pedal, row, other, some or all of above?

c. Are the kids experienced in watercraft or is this their first time with a boat?

d. Trailer, cartop or docked?

e. How much does weight matter?

Even without your answers, there are some designs here that might fit your needs. First, the 6' Eastport Ultralight Dinghy.