PMD Wooden mast question

Im just finishing a wooden mast for my Passagemaker, and I'm almost ready to start rigging it. The yard gooseneck and sail are on going to be on a track, and I was wondering whether boom gooseneck could be on the track as well (with a downhaul). Or should it be attached directly to the mast? This is my first build as a neophyte sailor so I'm completely in the dark about what's best and why... 

Thanks in advance...

P

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: PMD Wooden mast question

I attached my boom gooseneck directly to the mast, several inches below the end of the track.  This allows the boom to stay in place while the sail slides can come off the end of the track.  I also have that screw stop that goes into the bottom hole of the track to retain the slides.  The whole assembly is predicated on how high you can haul the yard before the halyard shackle hits the sheave.  Once you establish that, the sail tells you where you have to locate the gooseneck.

You can certainly do either a fixed or moving gooseneck.  I've sailed dinghies for a lifetime, and even the professional builders/designers of various popular dinghy class boats don't seem to have ever decided one way or the other. 

With the sail being provided (as shown in Captain Skully's picture) he has a consistent grade of sailcloth right down to the foot (as would be expected for a loose-footed sail), but with a fixed tack and cunningham.  I'm sure that it all works, but in higher winds you'll be cranking on the cunningham and outhaul to flatted the sail, and - possibly resulting in a fairly big wrinkle and a bit of "flappy" sail along the foot. The picture already shows the beginning of the wrinkle.