WD 12 front bulkhead

�While it's part of the plans I'm contemplating trying to make a front bulkhead for my WD 12 project. I'm not as concern about storage as I just want to make the boat as bulletproof and waterproof as possible. From what I've measured it seems like there should be room but as this is my first build I'm a little hesitant to pull the trigger. Does anyone have any experience with installing a front bulkhead or reasons I shouldn't?

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: WD 12 front bulkhead

Anthony,

I've been paddling my WD12 for ten years now and not only have I never wanted a forward bulkhead, there have been lots of times that I've been very glad not to have one. Usually it's after a long morning of paddling and a nice lunch at anchor in a beautiful shady spot. Then I can slide forward, fold the seatback down to use as a pillow, pull my hat over my face and take a lovely post-prandial nap. The rocking of the boat on the water, the calls of the ospreys overhead and the jumping of the fish knock me right out and I wake up ready for an afternoon of more paddling.

If you're worried about that large compartment filling with water, you can do what I do and put a 25 liter dry sack up in there. Empty, it will give you 55 lbs or so of buoyancy, even with the cockpit completely flooded, while leaving enough room to lie down. You also wouldn't have to make the build more complicated, nor would you have to worry about ventilation. It's worked for me for 10 years. A spray skirt also keeps the water out in case you get caught in a breaking wave or inconsiderate wake.

Have fun,

Laszlo

Laszlo, thank you. That's the insight I was looking for. You definitely paint an appealing picture of the advantage of omitting a front bulkhead.