Skerry epoxy concerns

Hi everyone.  I have no experience in lapstitch construction.  I'm looking at a used Skerry which is for sale. Construction in general looks alright but where the thwarts and seats join the hull, the epoxy color doesn't match the hull color.  It's quite white and looks a bit carelessly applied.  This is also true of the joint between the two pieces of the mast.  The color around the joint is yellow-white as opposed to the deep, rich hull color.  All these joints feel strong but look a bit amateurish.  Should I consider this a potential problem in epoxy mixing or application?  Could it compromise hull strength?  Sorry, I have no photos to show you.  Thanks for your input.  Cheers. Steven

12 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Skerry epoxy concerns

hmmm, probably gonna need more details.  The way you mention it, sounds like only part of the epoxy work doesn't match?  Could be repairs...  Kit or plan built?  Could just be the wrong color.  Not neat isn't a seaworthy no go criteria, but gives cause for closer inspection.

Is your impression is has always been that color, or turned that color at some point.  A change would definitely be cause for alarm.

I'm not experienced here, but curious to know if it's at all feasible to basically grind out fillets and replace them?  Tedious for sure, but doing at least some of it could give a good indicator as to seaworthiness.

Good luck!

Mike

Thanks Mike.  I I don't think I can upload photos on this forum (can't seem to locate that function, at any rate), but I may be able to email you a few closeup photos sometime in the next week when I go back to see the boat again, if you're willing.