WD 12 hybrid first build ?????

Hello and I am new to this I want to build a boat thing. I have had a hard time deciding what to build. And believe it or not it is between a Wood Duck and a Jimmy skiff 2. I can see my self using both types of boats. Is the stripped top on the hybrid to much for a first time builder ? I feel I can handle the hull but unsure of the skills needed for the hybrid part ? I really like the look of the Hybrid but don’t want to get in over my head on first boat. Any other suggestions I will listen. I have read a lot of good stuff on here and want to learn all I can before I jump in.

Bob

4 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: WD 12 hybrid first build ?????

>>Is the stripped top on the hybrid too much for a first time builder?

That depends entirely on the builder.

The difference between the builds is not so much a matter of needing more skill to do a stripper (though that does help), it's the patience, especially if you're building from a kit. The JS2 kit comes with the pieces pre-cut to their final shapes. Any hybrid has more pieces just in the deck than any two Jimmy Skiffs total, and each one needs to be individually shaped and fit.

While shaping a deck piece is simple enough for a beginner, and it gets easier to do as the deck progresses, the length of time to do all the pieces is longer than for a simple S&G hull.

So, if you are the kind of person who enjoys repetitive tasks and gets into a zen-like state making slow but steady progress, where the build is as much fun as actually using the boat, you're a great candidate for a stripped deck. If, on the other hand, you'd rather be sailing than nailing, the Jimmy Skiff is for you.

One final note - the WS and JS water experiences are very different. For that reason you may actually want to build both boats. I have a WD12 and a Brand X sailing/rowing dinghy that's almost a V-bottom version of the Jimmy Skiff and I enjoy them both.

Have fun,

Laszlo