Tenderly Build from Plans

Hi, I'm just getting started on my build from plans of the Tenderly, and wanted to get some accounts from others that haven't built from the kit.

I've transferred and roughly cut out the frames and planks, and looking ahead to trimming the pieces down to the pencil lines. I work almost exclusively with handtools, though I do use a jigsaw and/or bandsaw for some cutting.

My question is how to trim down to that final dimension - there are a lot of sharp inside corners that are going to limit the use of a plane, spokeshave, etc. Paring with a chisel by hand will be tedious. If the frames didn't have those little tabs to fit into the hull planks, it would be much easier.

Or, do I just conceed that most of these inside surfaces are going to be covered by fillets anyway and live with "second class" saw cuts?

Any other crucial tips in building from plans (especially with handtools) would be greatly appreciated.

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Tenderly Build from Plans

Danno,

I've not built a Tenderly from plans, or at all, but I have cut parts from sheets of plywood. I've always cut proud of the pencil line with a jigsaw and then taken the edges down to the line using:

1. A sander, orbital or belt. When using a hand-held belt sander the piece needs to be well-secured to a bench with the edge of the piece supported but extending over the edge. 
  2. Flat rasps of varying widths.
  3. Round rasps of varying diameters for small inner curves.

The sandpaper grit and the coarseness of the rasps must be matched to the amount of wood to be removed. Coarse removes wood faster but leaves a rougher surface, finer is slower but leaves a smoother surface.

You probably know this already and hopefully a real Tenderly plans builder will respond.

Cheers,

Dick

���Thanks Dick,I didn't think of using a rasp, I don't do much shaping in my other work to warrant one. Time for a trip to Lee Valley!