Passagemaker Fiberglass

Hello all...I've been getthing through my Passagemaker build without any issue until now.  I need to fiberglass the exterior bottom panel.  The bottom panel has holes where the bulkhead tabs engage.  I'm assuming that I need to sand down the tabs on the bulkheads??  More importantly, will the fiberglass lock in the bulkheads?  Manual doesnt' say anything about this except to leave the bulkheads in place during this stage.  Thanks

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Passagemaker Fiberglass

Hey Justin,

This was discussed quite extensively in a thread a while ago.  I'm a plans builder so I didn't retain the info.  Hopefully a quick forum search will help.  I do remember that a factor was whether the builder wanted to be able to remove the bulkheads later to glass the interior.  Good luck!

P.S.  I did a forum search on "passagemaker tabs" and found this:

https://www.clcboats.com/forum/clcforum/thread/35823.html

Hi there, I'm at exactly the same step in my PMD build and I called CLC Saturday about this topic.  As the 2016 thread linked above says they recommended filling with wood flour epoxy when you are patching your stitch holes and sanding off the tabs of the forward and aft bulkheads.  They are apparantly only there as aides in locating the bulkhead prior to epoxying the strakes.

Good luck with your build!

Thanks for the help!!!

We took a different approach, after giving the matter some thought in the "moaning chair" while we scratched our heads like monkeys lookin' at a red rubber ball, on account of the manual bein' vague about this detail.