Trailex 250S

I'm getting near finishing my Skerry Raid and am thinking of taking CLC's sale on the 250S offer. My concern is how strong is the trailer with only one long box beam from hitch to rear wheel platform? I would think it would twist easily and possibly bend. The small 8" wheels also make me wonder how well they would last in the hot summer on a long road trip. I had a trailer once with 8" wheels which gave me nothing by tire problems. My Peeler's  regular size trailer with 13" tires was a dream to tow and never overheated. I am thinking if I removed a few of the springs from a standard alum. trailer with larger wheels it would be a stonger package. My Raid will weigh about 225 pounds when completed. What is your honest experience with the 250S on long trips and for strength?

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Trailex 250S

I have no experience with that particular trailer, but I highly agree that on any trailer that you will be taking farther than the closest local lake, you definitely want 12" plus wheels.  I also always add Bearing Buddies, a spare tire, LED brake lights and a dedicated wrench the size of the lug nuts.

I also agree that any trailer should be sturdy enough for you to load not only the boat and accessories, but also camping gear, provisions, etc.

With that being said, I'm sure that any trailer that either Trailex or CLC sells will be more than strong enough.  Especially considering half the people go with the cheap Harbor Freight trailers.

I just noticed that the SUT-1000 comes with 12" tire option and free spare tire/carrier.

https://www.clcboats.com/modules/catalog/product.php?category_qn=boat-gear&subcat_qn=trailex-trailers&code=clc-teardrop-camper-trailex-trailer-kit-sut-1000-clc

CaptainSkulley said, " .....I also agree that any trailer should be sturdy enough for you to load not only the boat and accessories, but also camping gear, provisions, etc."