epoxy and fiberglass resin?

I am a new builder once my plans arrive.As i am trying to have all my materials on hand i am having trouble finding the right epoxy.Is the epoxy used to glue the hull together different then what coats the fiberglass cloth?No one who sell the product around here knows anything about it,and unfortunately i dont know any one to ask.

24 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: epoxy and fiberglass resin?

I'm still a bit of a green boatbuilder myself, but believe I may have some answers for you. - I am not sure what boat you are building, so just to clarify my comments below are in reference to S&G building.

It is the same epoxy, but when using it for tacking or fileting (i.e. Glueing the hull) you will thicken the epoxy using something like wood flour or silica.I used Silica for tacking - and wood flour for filets.  When glassing you will use just the epoxy itself (un-thickened)

You might want to check out the MAS Economy Kit - it includes it all including "self" measuring pumps for the Epoxy Resin and Hardener (One pump of each, takes the gueswork out of getting the right mix ratio) - it also comes with the silica and woodflour as well.

Hope this helps.

I am in the middle of my first project and can identify with your question because I had the same experience. I'm using an oxford shell CLC kit that includes the MAS Economy Kit that Kpperry810 refers to. His description is correct and is detailed in the instructions provided. It is my understanding that there are other products out there but this one seems to be one of the best. I am quite pleased with the results so far. There are many old postings on this site that address the epoxy process. The veteran builders have given some great recommendations and advice.