going about in a very light boat

Hi, I have a skerry, balanced lug rig. I am a bit of a novice dinghy sailor, and have struggled to do two things well in the skerry. Point upwind very close, and go about with ease. I have played with moving my centre of effort back and forth over the centreboard, and got the helm pretty balanced in moderate breeze, and going about semi-OK. But last weekend sailed in 15-20 knots, with a reef in, and as the skerry is so light, every time I came up into the wind she would lose power, and I would have to fall back onto the same tack. My only recourse was to hold the boom in place with one hand, steer with the other and hold the sheet with the third (?). Not fun with strong gusts and whitecaps all aorund. Any advice on effortlessly going about in all wind strengths? 

27 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: going about in a very light boat

���Yep, you have nailed one of the challenging skills in a skerry. What I am learning, coming from the keelboat world, is in big breeze and chop, enter tacks with speed and complete quickly. That may mean bear off a bit for speed then hard over. Shift weight to help. Two people were easier because the extra mass meant momentum. Time tacks between waves or use a wave to boost the tack depending. Keep the luff very tight. And sometimes I had to jibe around. Reef for the gusts because the lug rig overpowers the skerry downwind.

The only thing I'd add is this: Stay well out from a lee shore! Nothing is worse than getting close to a lee shore in a high wind, trying to come about, and finding yourself in irons. That's when panic hits!

Like Mummichog I try to sail into those turns with lots of speed and make them quick -- almost like going from one beam reach to another.