Highfield (Hyfield?) Lever

hi all...

so i am a new builder and and trying to figure out the best way to maintain tension on a forestay.  i just read about a thing called a highfield lever, and was wondering if anyone has come up with a homemade solution that does the same thing.  requirements for my purposes are:

1) relatively cheap

2) able to make myself or cobble together from things I find at home depot

3) capable to tensioning and being quick to release when I take down the mast.

This is for a PDRacer I am building so, you know, were not talking rocket science or super expensive gear.  Just looking for a simple solution that might have been engineered already.  thanks for any input!

2 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Highfield (Hyfield?) Lever

The Highfield lever is overkill. It's designed for tensioning wire backstays and has to be pretty strongly engineered.

Sounds as if what you really want is a cleat. You can make wooden ones from scratch from good quality scrap wood (requirement 1 & 2) and you can set up ot take down the forestay in under 10 seconds. For under $11.00 you can get a really nice brass or nylon one, ready to use.

For between $3.00 and $13.00, a nylon open clamcleat jam cleat will let you adjust the tension simply by pulling a line, no wrapping lines around the cleat. Again, you can make wooden versions that work the same way.

In the same price range, a camcleat (note the different spelling) will give you a bit better control and allow more tension.

And if you have around $25.00 to spend, you can use a clamcleat trapeze and vang cleat to give yourself a 2:1 advantage to get very easily adjustable high tension. I use that setup to control the snotter on my sprit-rigged sailing dinghy. It's very simple and convenient. I can even have passengers who've never sailed before adjust the tension because it only involves pulling a single line.